Just Sunset Squiggles

I’ve always wished to fly;

ever since my sunset squiggles

of a grade schooler’s scrawls –

those birds that seemed to rise

up and away to some world

where light never lacked.

Whatever that meant.

Perhaps, now, where love’s never lost.

Whatever that means –

if ever such a thing could ever last,

or be ever lost.

Sunset Rays by Jennifer Gorman

Sunset Rays by Jennifer Gorman

 

But these clouds only curtain.

They simply mask what light still shines while it sets.

Always setting.

Always rising.

 

Ever rising.

Ever setting.

But its light still shines

somewhere in those old grade school scribbles.

 

But I miss those Florida-bound birds;

I miss their glistening wings on warmer winds.

I miss their sunset world

I could never imagine.

 

I can only imagine.

 

And though, now I know why,

I still wish to fly.

4 thoughts on “Just Sunset Squiggles

  1. I wanted to put you the very little word so as to say thanks a lot over again for all the precious secrets you have shared in this case. It is certainly pretty open-handed of you to give freely what numerous people would have made available as an e book to generate some money on their own, most notably since you could possibly have tried it if you decided. These guidelines in addition worked like the easy way to know that many people have the identical dreams really like mine to find out a little more when it comes to this condition. I think there are a lot more fun situations ahead for individuals that see your site.

    • Thanks! I was writing this recently while remembering sunsets as a child. It’s quite profound imagery, isn’t it? Glad you enjoyed!

      • PS, you should try reading my short story, Golden Delicious. I think you’d like it if you like this poem!

Leave a Reply

