That Day

I could have been an archeologist

on that rainy grade school day

back in May

of 1996 or so.

 

But it rained.

So we stayed inside.

And never went outside

to try that real, hands on work.

 

So now I dig –

I’m a gravedigger now.

I spend my days in shadowed holes

and nights alone with dreams of old.

 

But I find treasures in the night –

silver skulls I un-turn

still smile in the pale moonlight.

 

I’d like to smile back.

 

But my smile’s somewhere lost

on that rainy school day back in May.

Leave a Reply

