The Ways

I suppose all the while,

while I sat there and smiled,

I should have thought of ifs,

whats, and buts

of what maybe was

or could’ve been.


I suppose that’s the point – 

the path from then ’till now

of why we’ve arrived

to this here and how?


I suppose,

but what the hell does that mean?

And what’s what worth

when what’s worth’s

only what dying roses dream of

while all wilts – 

and smiles no more.


Whatever worth’s left,

I suppose it’s just best

to smile on

and figure the best way now

before this day’s gone.

Leave a Reply

